AGATHA AWARDS: The Agatha Awards are given at the Malice Domestic conventions each year, in the Washington, D. C. area. They are the awards which seem to be closest to the “Cozy Mystery” genre. The Malice Domestic requirements of a mystery are: no excessive violence, no explicit sex, the characters are usually known to each other, and a lot of the time the main character is an amateur sleuth. (*Remember  the awards are given each year for the books that qualified the previous year… So, for example, in 2008 they announced the winners of the books from 2007*)

Best Novel

Best First Novel

Best Historical Novel

Best Short Story

Best Children’s/Young Adult

Best Non-Fiction

Malice Domestic Award for Lifetime Achievement &
Malice Domestic Poirot Award

BONY BLITHE AWARDS: The Bony Blithe Awards are Canadian awards that are given annually for books written by Canadian authors. The nominated mysteries are of the Cozy Mystery genre. These awards are given at the Bloody Words Banquet, which is held at the end of May.

Bony Blithe Awards

ANTHONY AWARDS: The Anthony Awards are given at the Bouchercon conventions each year, for all types of mysteries, not just limited to the “more cozy” works.

Best Novel

Best First Novel

Best Paperback Original

Best Children’s or Young Adult Novel

Best Critical/Non-Fiction

Best Short Story

Best TV Episode Teleplay

Best Audio Book

Best Graphic Novel

Best Fan Publication, Website/Blog

Lifetime Achievement Award

Miscellaneous/Special Awards

DERRINGER AWARDS:  The Derringer Awards are given each year (since their creation in 1997) by the Short Mystery Fiction Society. The name comes from the Derringer handgun. Most of the other mystery awards emphasize novels, while these awards are solely for short stories. (I am listing the year the awards were actually announced, not the year the works were actually published.) 

Flash Story (up to 500 words) (up to 1,000 Words from ’08)

Short-short Story (501-2000 words) (1,001-4,000 Words from ’08 “Short Story”)

Mid-length Story (2001-6000 words) (4,001-8,000 Words from ’08 “Long Story”)

Longer Short Story (6001-15,000 words) (8,001-17,500 Words in ’08 “Novelette”)

Special Awards

EDGAR ALLAN POE AWARDS:  The Edgars are awarded by the Mystery Writers of America and are presented in April of each year, for works that were published the previous year. They go back as far as 1946.

Best Novel

Best First Novel

Best Paperback Original

Best Short Story

Best Fact Crime

Best Critical/Biographical Work

Best Young Adult

Best Juvenile

TV Series: Best Episode

Best TV Feature or Miniseries

Best Motion Picture

Best Play

Ellery Queen Award

Robert L. Fish Memorial Award

Raven Award

Mary Higgins Clark Award

Grand Master

Special Edgars

NERO AWARDS: The Nero Awards are presented each year by “The Wolfe Pack,” a forum that is based on the enjoyment/discussion of all 72 of Rex Stout’s Nero Wolfe works. The award is given in December to an author of a particularly excellent mystery book at their Black Orchid Banquet.

Nero Award List

Black Orchid Novella Award List

The Wrong Girl by Hank Phillippi Ryan
The Wrong Girl

A Small Hill To Die On by Elizabeth J. Duncan
A Small Hill To Die On

The Beautiful Mystery by Louise Penny
The Beautiful Mystery

The Long Quiche Goodbye by Avery Aames
The Long Quiche Goodbye

The Brutal Telling by Louise Penny
The Brutal Telling

The Body in the Snowdrift by Katherine Hall Page
The Body in the Snowdrift

The Cruelest Month by Louise Penny
The Cruelest Month

Better Off Wed by Laura Durham
Better Off Wed

Dead Until Dark by Charlaine Harris
Dead Until Dark

In the Bleak Midwinter by Julia Spencer-Fleming
In the Bleak Midwinter

Death of a Cozy Writer by G. M. Malliet
Death of a Cozy Writer

Bubbles Unbound by Sarah Strohmeyer
Bubbles Unbound

Every Secret Thing by Laura Lippman
Every Secret Thing