Authors Similar to Carola Dunn

Diana sent me a letter asking for help finding authors similar to sleuth Daisy Dalrymple’s creator, Carola Dunn:

“I’m hoping you’ll be willing to give me a suggestion or two – I especially love …  Carola Dunn (Daisy Dalrymple).  … do you have any specific author suggestions?”

I am going to start the list off with Jacqueline Winspear (who Diana suggested in her letter) and some other authors who I think Diana might be able to substitute Carola Dunn with, now that she is all caught up with Dunn’s Daisy Dalrymple mysteries.

Authors Who Are Similar to Carola Dunn:

Susan Wittig Albert: Cottage Tales of Beatrix Potter Mystery Series

Nancy Atherton: Aunt Dimity Mystery Series

M. C. Beaton (aka Marion Chesney): Hamish Mcbeth Mystery Series

Rhys BowenMolly Murphy Mystery Series AND Lady Georgiana Mystery Series

Emily BrightwellMrs. Jeffries Mystery Series

Marion Chesney (aka M. C. Beaton): Edwardian Murder Mystery Series

Jeanne M. DamsDorothy Martin Mystery Series

Dianne Day: Freemont Jones Mystery Series

Ann Granger: Markby & Mitchell Village Whodunit Mystery Series

Kerry Greenwood: Phryne Fisher Mystery Series

Kate Kingsbury (aka Rebecca Kent): Pennyfoot Hotel Mystery Series

Catriona McPherson: Dandy Gilver Mystery Series

Robin Paige (aka Susan Wittig Albert & Bill Albert): Kate Ardleigh Sheridan & Sir Charles Sheridan Victorian Mystery Series

Victoria ThompsonGaslight Mystery Series

Jacqueline WinspearMaisie Dobbs Mystery Series

Please post your recommendations of authors who are similar to Carola Dunn, and I will add them to the list.

♦To access more Cozy Mysteries by theme, click on this link.♦

Comments

  1. I too have run out of Daiseys. I took this fine alternative from the alpha authors list -
    Marion Chesney aka M. C. Beaton
    EDWARDIAN MURDER MYSTERY Series:
    Main Characters: Capt. Harry Cathcart, Lady Rose Summer & her Companion Daisy
    Same theme of rich, titled young lady who gets a job.

    • Danna - cozy mystery list :

      Thank you, Kathryn, I will go add Marion Chesney’s Edwardian Murder Mystery to the Authors Similar to Carola Dunn theme.

  2. I would also include Rhys Bowen’s Lady Georgie series.

    • Danna - cozy mystery list :

      Thank you, Judith, I’ll go add Rhys Bowen’s Lady Georgiana series to the Authors Similar to Carola Dunn theme list right now…

  3. I haven’t read this yet but Rhys Bowen’s Royal Spyness series springs to mind as well as Catriona McPherson’s Dandy Gilver mysteries.

    • Danna - cozy mystery list :

      Thank you, Cristina, for telling us about Catriona McPherson.

      • Well, I was just coming here to tell you about Catriona McPherson, but Cristina beat me to it. I recently discovered Ms. McPherson’s Dandy Gilver series which is very much like those listed above but based in Scotland. It’s a delightful series.

        • Danna - cozy mystery list :

          I have added Catriona McPherson is on my list of authors to post on the site. Thank you!

  4. Kerry Greenwood’s Phryne Fisher series are an Australian alternative and factually accurate.

    • Danna - cozy mystery list :

      Thanks, Nicole, I’ll add Kerry Greenwood’s Phryne Fisher Mystery Series to the Authors Similar to Carola Dunn theme list.

  5. Please add the DANDY GILVER series by Catriona McPherson. The first novel in the series is “After the Armistice Ball” –same time frame as DAISY but this series takes place in Scotland.

Add a Comment

*