Authors Similar to Lilian Jackson Braun …

This is a list of authors who just might quench your appetite for more Lilian Jackson Braun, and her The Cat Who… Mystery Series. It’s always sad when you run out of your favorite author’s books, isn’t it?

Authors similar to Lilian Jackson Braun:

Lydia Adamson: Alice Nestleton Mystery Series AND Deirdre Quinn Nightingale Mystery Series AND Alice Nestleton Mystery Series AND Lucy Wayles Mystery Series

Garrison Allen (aka Gary Amo): Big Mike Mystery Series

Nancy Atherton: Aunt Dimity Mystery Series

Marian Babson: Douglas Perkins & Gerry Tate Mystery Series AND Trixie Dolan & Evangeline Sinclair Mystery Series AND many Stand Alone Mysteries

Rita Mae Brown: Mrs. Murphy Mystery Series

Melissa Cleary: Dog Lovers Mystery Series

Susan Conant: Dog Lover’s Mystery Series

Carole Nelson Douglas: Midnight Louie Mystery Series AND Midnight Louie & Templar Barr Mystery Series

Dorothy Gilman: Mrs. Pollifax Mystery Series

Miranda James (aka Dean James, Honor Hartman, & Jimmie Ruth Evans): Cat in the Stacks Mystery Series

Virginia Lanier: Jo Beth Sidden Mystery Series

Evan Marshall: Jane Stuart & Winky Mystery Series

Miss Read: not mysteries… Fairacre Series AND Thrush Green Series

Gilbert Morris: Jacques and Cleo, Cat Detectives Mystery Series

Shirley Rousseu Murphy: Joe Grey Mystery Series

Denise Swanson: Scumble River Mystery Series

Leann Sweeney: Cats in Trouble Mystery Series

Please post your recommendations of authors who are similar to Lilian Jackson Braun, and I will add them to the list.

♦To access more Cozy Mysteries by theme click on this link.♦

Comments

  1. I just finished Gilbert Morris’ Jacques & Cleo series – only 3 books in that series but really fun reading. Wish there had been more.

  2. Petie,
    I am going (right now) to add The Gilbert Morris series to the list.
    Thanks!

  3. I just found another absolutely wonderful author–Karen Cantwell (Take the Monkeys and Run.) Just finished her book on Kindle a day or so ago. What great entertainment!!! Really, really enjoyed it!

    Maria

  4. Thanks for telling us about her, Maria!

  5. Although I love many of the authors mentioned, no one, I mean, absolutely no one can ever take the place of Lilian Jackson Braun. Her stories were one of a kind and I miss them terribly.

  6. The Man with My Cat (1999) is Paul Engleman’s

    Sam the Cat Detective, by Linda Stewart.

    The “Big Mike” series by Garrison Allen. Mike (or Mycroft) is a 25-pound Abyssinian who lives with Arizona bookseller and amateur sleuth Penelope Warren.

    The “Samantha” series by D.B. Olsen (the pen name used by Dolores Hitchens).

    The “Mrs. Murphy” series by Rita Mae Brown

    The cat mysteries of Marion Babson.

    The “Joe Gray” series by Shirley Rosseau Murphy
    I have not read any of these books yet BUT because I have finished all of Lillian books I have to start somewhere. ALSO great news for me .My husband who never read a book in his life picked up one of my cat who books & loved it. He is now reading them all from the start .I am glad I saved them. HAS anyone heard of this book
    The Cat who Killed Lilian Jackson Braun
    Robert Kaplow

  7. There are more Mrs Braun books not listed in link to the Cozy Mystery page listed here. They are:
    Two Cats, Three Tales

    The Private Life of the Cat Who …: Tales of Koko and Yum Yum (from the Journals of James Mackintosh Qwilleran)

    Short & Tall Tales: Moose County Legends Collected by James Mackintosh Qwilleran (2002)

    ALSO Those who love Lilian Jackson Braun’s Cat Who books may like
    The Cat Who…Cookbook
    … mysteries know that the residents of Moose County are as discerning in their gastronomical tastes as the finicky felines who star in the novels. Now readers can enjoy the kind of feast that can only be found four hundred miles north of everywhere-with recipes for Polly’s Picnic Brownies, Sea Scallops with Saffron Cream on Angel Hair Pasta, Mulligatawny Soup, Marinated Mushrooms, Thanksgiving Potatoes, Vonda’s Chocolate Whoppers, and more. And for those who want to pamper their pets, The Cat Who…Cookbook features a section called “Feline Fare”-featuring some of Koko and Yum Yum’s favorite treats.

    The Cat Who…Companion
    YA-Separate chapters provide information about the activities and games of the cats featured in Lilian Jackson Braun’s mysteries, a biography of Qwilleran, his lady friends, his homes, and a directory of all of the businesses and clubs in the series. The chapter on crimes and clues provides plot summaries. Two lists of characters are given: one is for the humans and one is for the many animals that appear in the books. Geographical information includes maps of Moose County and Pickax, but the gazetteer provides information on all locales cited. Feaster concludes with a biography of Braun and a quiz on details from the books.
    Copyright 1999

    The Cat Who…Quiz Book: Test Your Knowledge of Cat Who, What, When, Where, and Why

    YA-Separate chapters provide information about the activities and games of the cats featured in Lilian Jackson Braun’s mysteries, a biography of Qwilleran, his lady friends, his homes, and a directory of all of the businesses and clubs in the series. The chapter on crimes and clues provides plot summaries. Two lists of characters are given: one is for the humans and one is for the many animals that appear in the books. Geographical information includes maps of Moose County and Pickax, but the gazetteer provides information on all locales cited. Feaster concludes with a biography of Braun and a quiz on details from the books.
    Copyright 1999 Reed Business Information, Inc.

  8. Sorry forgot to add who wrote the other books

    The Cat Who…Quiz Book:
    WAS WRITTEN BY
    Jr. Robert J. Headrick

    The Cat Who…Companion
    Was written by
    Sharon A. Feaster

    The Cat Who…Cookbook
    Julie Murphy, Sally Abney Stempinski

  9. How about the Series by Cynthia Baxter, Dr. Popper(a vet on Long Island)?

  10. I have read ALL of the “Cat Who” series and loved them. Also read these other Cat Who related books: Two Cats-Three Tales, The Private Life of the Cat Who, Short and Tall Tales, Cat Who Quiz Book and have the Cat Who Cookbook. This is a WONDERFUL series, whether you have a Cat in your life or not. I just happen to have 3 Cats.

    • Danna - cozy mystery list :

      Shelia, Lilian Jackson Braun sure was loved and appreciated by a lot of people. A lot of times, after authors write more than ten mysteries, it seems like a lot of their fans leave them. Not so with Lilian Jackson Braun. Once a fan, always a fan!

  11. Danna, you are so right. Lilian Jackson Braun was a wonderful author. I bought every one of her books and read all of them. Was asked if I would like to pass the books on to other people. I declined because I was so afraid I would not get them back. I do plan on re-reading these books (all of them) again. Your listing of other authors, well I have read Gilbert Morris’s books about Jacques and Cleo – Excellent read. Rita Mae Brown’s – Mrs Murphy Series also.

    • Danna - cozy mystery list :

      Sheila, I have heard about people who have lent books out, never to see them again… even with name plates in their books.

      Years ago, I lent my copies of E. F. Benson’s books to one of my mom’s friends who was having surgery, and was VERY lucky that she returned them. (That was back when finding the Lucia books was extremely difficult >>> before the internet made it so easy to find favorite, out-of-print authors.)

  12. Cat in the Stacks Mysteries by Miranda James
    Cats in Trouble Mysteries by Leann Sweeney
    I’ve read all of LJB’s Cat Who mysteries and loved them. Took some time to find other cozy cat mysteries that I could recommend!

    • Danna - cozy mystery list :

      Thank you, Melinda, I just added Miranda James and Leann Sweeney to the Authors Similar to Lilian Jackson Braun theme list.

  13. Joanne Fluke has a cat in her murder mysteries who does not help solve murders, but I am on book 4 and finding them quite delightful. They will tickle your funny bone and take place in Minnesota, which must be 400 miles north of everywhere!? The first is “The Chocolate Chip Cookie Murder”. The heroine, Hannah Swenson, owns a bakery and her goodies have a nasty habit of turning up at murder scenes that she seems to constantly stumble upon (tho #4 is found by her mother, oh the horror!)

    • Danna - cozy mystery list :

      Jan, I just discovered Joanne Fluke this year, and have added her to my list of favorite authors. I, too, love Moishe.

Add a Comment

*